

Council

Wednesday 7 January 2015 2.00 pm Council Chamber, Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield, S1 2HH

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend



COUNCIL

Wednesday 7 January 2015, at 2.00 pm Council Chamber, Town Hall, Pinstone Street, Sheffield, S1 2HH

The Press and Public are Welcome to Attend

MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

THE LORD MAYOR (Councillor Peter Rippon)
THE DEPUTY LORD MAYOR (Councillor Talib Hussain)

THE DEPOTY LORD MAYOR (Councillor Tallb Hussain)					
1	Arbourthorne Ward Julie Dore Mike Drabble Jack Scott	10	Dore & Totley Ward Joe Otten Colin Ross Martin Smith	19	Mosborough Ward David Barker Isobel Bowler Tony Downing
2	Beauchief & Greenhill Ward Simon Clement-Jones Roy Munn Richard Shaw	11	East Ecclesfield Ward Pauline Andrews Steve Wilson Joyce Wright	20	Nether Edge Ward Nasima Akther Nikki Bond Qurban Hussain
3	Beighton Ward Helen Mirfin-Boukouris Chris Rosling-Josephs Ian Saunders	12	Ecclesall Ward Penny Baker Roger Davison Diana Stimely	21	Richmond Ward John Campbell Lynn Rooney Paul Wood
4	Birley Ward Denise Fox Bryan Lodge Karen McGowan	13	Firth Park Ward Sheila Constance Alan Law Chris Weldon	22	Shiregreen & Brightside Ward Peter Price Sioned-Mair Richards Peter Rippon
5	Broomhill Ward Jayne Dunn Stuart Wattam Brian Webster	14	Fulwood Ward Sue Alston Andrew Sangar Cliff Woodcraft	23	Southey Ward Leigh Bramall Tony Damms Gill Furniss
6	Burngreave Ward Jackie Drayton Ibrar Hussain Talib Hussain	15	Gleadless Valley Ward Steve Jones Cate McDonald Tim Rippon	24	Stannington Ward David Baker Katie Condliffe Vickie Priestley
7	Central Ward Jillian Creasy Robert Murphy Sarah Jane Smalley	16	Graves Park Ward Ian Auckland Steve Ayris Denise Reaney	25	Stocksbridge & Upper Don Ward Jack Clarkson Richard Crowther Philip Wood
8	Crookes Ward Rob Frost Anne Murphy Geoff Smith	17	Hillsborough Ward Bob Johnson George Lindars-Hammond Josie Paszek	26	<i>Walkley Ward</i> Olivia Blake Ben Curran Neale Gibson
9	<i>Darnall Ward</i> Harry Harpham Mazher Iqbal Mary Lea	18	Manor Castle Ward Jenny Armstrong Terry Fox Pat Midgley	27	West Ecclesfield Ward John Booker Adam Hurst Alf Meade
				28	Woodhouse Ward Mick Rooney

Jackie Satur Ray Satur John Mothersole

Chief Executive

Paul Robinson, Democratic Services
Tel: 0114 2734029
paul.robinson@sheffield.gov.uk

PUBLIC ACCESS TO THE MEETING

The Council is composed of 84 Councillors with one-third elected three years in four. Councillors are democratically accountable to the residents of their Ward. The overriding duty of Councillors is to the whole community, but they have a special duty to their constituents, including those who did not vote for them

All Councillors meet together as the Council. Here Councillors decide the Council's overall policies and set the budget each year. The Council appoints the Leader and at its Annual Meeting will appoint Councillors to serve on its Committees. It also appoints representatives to serve on joint bodies and external organisations.

A copy of the agenda and reports is available on the Council's website at www.sheffield.gov.uk. You can also see the reports to be discussed at the meeting if you call at the First Point Reception, Town Hall, Pinstone Street entrance. The Reception is open between 9.00 am and 5.00 pm, Monday to Thursday and between 9.00 am and 4.45 pm. on Friday. You may not be allowed to see some reports because they contain confidential information. These items are usually marked * on the agenda.

Members of the public have the right to ask questions or submit petitions to Council meetings and recording is allowed under the direction of the Chair. Please see the website or contact Democratic Services for further information regarding public questions and petitions and details of the Council's protocol on audio/visual recording and photography at council meetings.

Council meetings are normally open to the public but sometimes the Council may have to discuss an item in private. If this happens, you will be asked to leave. Any private items are normally left until last. If you would like to attend the meeting please report to the First Point Reception desk where you will be directed to the meeting room.

FACILITIES

There are public toilets available, with wheelchair access, on the ground floor of the Town Hall. Induction loop facilities are available in meeting rooms.

Access for people with mobility difficulties can be obtained through the ramp on the side to the main Town Hall entrance.

COUNCIL AGENDA 7 JANUARY 2015

Order of Business

1. APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

2. DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Members to declare any interests they have in the business to be considered at the meeting.

3. MINUTES OF PREVIOUS COUNCIL MEETING

To receive the record of the proceedings of the meeting of the Council held on 3rd December 2014 and to approve the accuracy thereof.

4. PUBLIC QUESTIONS AND PETITIONS AND OTHER COMMUNICATIONS

To receive any questions or petitions from the public, or communications submitted by the Lord Mayor or the Chief Executive and to pass such resolutions thereon as the Council Procedure Rules permit and as may be deemed expedient.

5. REPRESENTATION, DELEGATED AUTHORITY AND RELATED ISSUES

To consider any changes to the memberships and arrangements for meetings of Committees etc., delegated authority, and the appointment of representatives to serve on other bodies.

6. LORD MAYOR'S ANNUAL REPORT 2013/14

Councillor Vickie Priestley to present her annual report on her term of office as Lord Mayor during the Municipal Year 2013/14.

7. ASSESSMENT OF CHILD SEXUAL EXPLOITATION SERVICES IN SHEFFIELD

Report of the Executive Director, Children, Young People and Families, together with:-

(a) a report of the Children, Young People and Family Support Scrutiny and Policy Development Committee on the outcome of its consideration of the Executive Director's report at its special meeting held on 15th December 2014, and which was submitted to the meeting of the Cabinet on 17th December; and

(b) a report of the Chief Executive setting out the minute from the Cabinet meeting held on 17th December 2014, following its consideration of the reports of the Executive Director and the Scrutiny and Policy Development Committee.

8. SHEFFIELD CITY REGION GROWTH DEAL

To receive a presentation on the Sheffield City Region Growth Deal to be given by Councillor Sir Steve Houghton (Chair, Sheffield City Region Combined Authority) and Mr. Ben Still (Chief Executive, Sheffield City Region).

Chief Executive

Dated this 23 day of December 2014

The next ordinary meeting of the Council will be held on 4 February 2015 at the Town Hall